Repeat OUI/DUI Offenders Need Experienced Legal Guidance

If you have a previous conviction on your record for operating a motor vehicle while under the influence (OUI/DUI), you may quickly find yourself facing steep penalties if the police ever arrest you a second time for the same offense. In fact, a Massachusetts law known as Melanie's Law greatly increases the penalties for repeat OUI/DUI offenders and those who refuse chemical testing, particularly if they are involved in an accident in which someone is injured.

At Burke Levy, P.C., we understand what is at stake for alleged OUI/DUI offenders, and we will do everything we can to protect your freedom and safeguard your future. With more than 30 years of combined legal experience ― as prosecutors and defense attorneys ― Patrick K. Burke and Andrea Levy have the knowledge and the ability to protect your rights. Let us put our experience to work for you.

Facing your second OUI/DUI? Contact Burke Levy, P.C., to schedule a consultation today. You have no time to waste, so call us at 978-728-9446 or email us online. From our office in Leominster, we serve clients throughout Worcester County and the surrounding communities.

Penalties For Repeat Offenders

There are many harsh penalties you may face following a second OUI/DUI in Massachusetts, including:

  • Jail time ranging from 60 days to two and a half years, although the sentence can be reduced to 30 days in certain situations
  • Fine ranging from $600 to $10,000
  • License revocation of two years, although you may be able to seek a hardship license after one year
  • Installation of ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle after your license is reinstated or when you obtain a hardship license, although, in either case, it must remain on your vehicle for two years after your license is fully reinstated

Lifetime Look-Back Period

Importantly, Massachusetts uses a lifetime look-back period for determining whether or not you are a repeat OUI/DUI offender under the law ― meaning you are a repeat offender if you have a previous drunk driving conviction at any time, in any location, even in other jurisdictions. While many other states limit their look-back periods to a set number of years, that is simply not the case in Massachusetts. Therefore, even if you have a very old OUI/DUI conviction, you will still face increased penalties years later for a second offense. This is just one more reason why you need to contact a lawyer as soon as possible.