Even First-Time OUI/DUI Offenders Need A Lawyer By Their Side

You need to take OUI/DUI charges seriously, even if it is only your first offense. After all, first-time OUI/DUI offenders in Massachusetts face significant jail time and large fines following a conviction.

At Patrick K. Burke, Attorney at Law, we understand what is at risk in OUI/DUI cases, which is why we will work aggressively to provide you with the very best drunk driving defense ― even if that means we must take your case to trial.

In fact, we have found that there is limited downside for most first-time offenders to challenge the charges against them in court. For example, even if you lose at trial, you will likely face a penalty similar to what you would have been given had you simply pled guilty. So, if taking your case to court is the best approach for you, who better to have by your side than a lawyer who has been involved in nearly 400 jury trials? Contact attorney Patrick K. Burke today to learn how he can help you.

Possible Penalties For First-Time Offenders

Under Massachusetts law, there are many penalties you may face following your first OUI/DUI arrest, including:

  • Jail time of up to two and a half years, although, in certain situations, an offender may be eligible for probation and an alcohol education program instead
  • Fine ranging from $500 to $5,000
  • Loss of license for one year, which may be reduced to 45-90 days in certain situations, not to mention an offender may be able to seek a hardship license during the suspension period
  • Loss of license for 180 days if the offender refused a breathalyzer test
  • Possible installation of ignition interlock device (IID), particularly when the offender seeks a hardship license

It is important to realize, however, that these are just the possible penalties you may face after an OUI/DUI arrest. For instance, if you are under 21 or injure another person while driving drunk, you may have to contend with a much harsher punishment. In any case, it is always best to contact a lawyer as soon as possible.

Schedule Your Legal Consultation Today

You should never take OUI/DUI charges lightly. Indeed, just because it is your first offense doesn't mean you won't get two and a half years in a house of correction. Contact Patrick K. Burke, Attorney at Law today to schedule a consultation. You can reach us online or by phone at 978-728-9446. We serve clients in Leominster, Westborough, throughout Worcester County and beyond.